University of Cambridge


The Department of Earth Sciences is a vibrant environment both for research and teaching. The teaching effort is concentrated in the four years of the Cambridge science degree, the Natural Sciences Tripos (NST). This scheme provides a broad foundation of three sciences plus Maths in the first year, focuses within several science areas in the second year, then specializes in one area in the third year and the optional but popular fourth year.

Find out here about the main Earth Sciences and Geological Sciences route through the NST or the Mineral Sciences route embedded with Geological Sciences. Read some General Informationabout our teaching, and get to know the Teaching Staff.

Join 80,000 other oil and gas professionals

Network with others, build your profile, and receive the latest oil and gas news in your inbox. It's free!

Create profile